Reviews: The Great Gatsby, Star Trek Into Darkness, Fast & Furious 6, and Snitch

thegreatgatsby

The Great Gatsby

A feast for my eyes and ears, not so much for my heart. The party scene worths paying extra for 3D viewing. Hip-hop replaces jazz as the music of decadence and bling bling. Both men and women can learn a lot about fashion and style from Jay Gatsby, Nick Carraway, Daisy Buchanan, Jordan Baker, and Tom Buchanan. However, I could not believe that a girl like Daisy could stir a war of ego between two billionaires. There is nothing but good fashion in the movie that indicates Daisy as an outstanding girl. I would love to believe that Carey Mulligan herself is a fine actress. It is the script and the directing that did not carve and cement her character as the ultimate damsel in distress, thus making the core of the story – a battle between Old Money and New Money to win Daisy – rather hard to believe. Readers of the novel – me being not one of them – will have more complaints.

startrekintodarkness

Star Trek Into Darkness

A fantastic mix of science fiction, action, and buddy-buddy drama with good jokes. Benedict Cumberbatch is a great, menacing villain. I was too lazy to queue for the IMAX screening, and that was my loss. If I had to nitpick I would question why in the future, where we know that the universe is not the safest place to be, Earth still has no self-defense system. I mean, a global shield that could easily be activated when there is a huge spacecraft suddenly falling from the sky, perhaps? Then again, like I said, it’s just nitpicking.

ff6

Fast & Furious 6

Testosterone and gasoline fuel this mighty blockbuster to bring a climax I thought I could never expect from the franchise. Dominic Toretto, Brian O’Conner and Hobbs go larger than life. However, I found the storytelling not as fluid as the previous installment. There was quite a long pause in the middle where nothing big was happening. Being not a heist movie also may alienate some loyal fans of the franchise. Connecting the story with The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift – the third installment in the franchise – is fun. And the mid-credit additional scene made me want to see the on-production Fast & Furious 7 immediately.

SNITCH

Snitch

Right after I watched Dwayne Johnson being Hobbs in Fast & Furious 6 this movie forced me to believe that his character can barely fight or pull a trigger. The story and the close-ups try very hard to prove that Johnson can seriously act. It’s not that he doesn’t deliver, but I doubt there is a big market for an unbalanced mix of male-oriented drama (approximately 80%) and stale action scenes (let’s say 20%). The poster tries to sell tickets by posing Johnson as a hero, but the mild-mannered story will leave audience feeling cheated and tricked. I admire the efforts of the scriptwriters and director, but this is not what I signed up for.

Leave a Reply

